top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeborah Syfert

DIY boho wall art for photo display


To be honest i just kinda had all this stuff laying around. Originally i was thinking this was going to be a weaving loom, however i couldnt get the image of hanging tassels out of my head. so i followed my gut and here it is!











The wood i used is scrap from some renovations we did. I used #gorillawoodglue to secure the wood peices together into a frame.

I cut 9 strands of yarn about 3 inches longer than the frame and tied them to the top. Make sure the yarn still can pull to the bottom of the frame so you have room for error .









I added some natural wood beads in a "V" shape and pushed them to the top so they wouldnt get in the way.





Next i made tassels!

The easiest way to do this is to cut a peice of cardboard into a templet to wrap the yarn around. I however have this basket handel its about 3 inches wide, which is the perfect sized tassel.

Wrap the yarn around until its a nice thick tassle, then slid the yarn off keeping your thumbs in the circle so the yarn does not separate.

once taking the yarn off of your tassel templet cut the ring of yarn on one end holding it in the middle.



Adding the tassels:

I laid my cut tassel strands grouped together on the middle string. To get the "V" shape i wanted, I placed the bottom of the tassle right at the bottom of the frame. Then tied a knot in the center to secure the tassle in place.







To finish the tassel, just tie some yarn around a couple times and then tie in a knot. it should look something like the one in the picture.

As you can see i have restarted this process on the next strings raising the tassels a little higher than the middle one.

I eye-balled mine, but, you can always measure it out.









This is how your project will start to shape out while continuing to add the tassels.









I initially thought this was the end to this project but it just seemed unpolished. To finish it off, i ended up staining the wood frame black, and wrapping white yarn around where the tassels are tied to the frame.








Here is the finished product! I love it so much!


Thanks for stopping by House on Marigold! If you are interested in subscribing there is a section on the home page!


<3 deb







64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page